Huntly Stockcars – The Cornerstone of Speedway

Stockcars always manage to pull in a crowd whenever there is a big event, not as fast as their big brothers the Superstocks, but the action can sometimes be more entertaining.

Every meeting usually draws large fields with good numbers of local Huntly cars, and no shortage of out of town cars keen to join in the fun.

Last season the overall points battle went down to the wire, resulting in a quite entertaining final night with several tactics in play. 27H Brett Aikin coming out on top as club champion but only by 1 point from 361H Clinton Cheetham. 88H Justin Hutchby took the 3rd overall. 422H Dylan Ashton would have also been right up there but missed one meeting to give his father a skid in the car.

The two big meetings this season will be the Waikato champs, and the Hazelton Memorial meeting. Last season the George Hazelton trophy was claimed by an outsider for the first time ever, 8A Logan Peat, so this meeting will be one to watch as the Huntly cars wouldn’t want this to happen again.

88H Justin Hutchby has stated he will be going for the stirrers award this season, so will be one to watch throughout the year.

Who will be going for the overall points this season? With Aikin and Cheetham in the running again, will Ashton go for it this year? Also one to watch will be 5H Ryan Marshall, a successful ex-ministock driver jumped into the stockcar at the end of the last season and showed he can handle that just as well, so will be one to watch this year. 8H Larry Henderson, if luck goes his way could do it as he was the feature winner last season. 24H Brad Philpott, will he stir or run? With a competitive car now he is capable of both. 922H Hayden Hepworth is always a consistent runner too, but came in for a bit of attention on the final night last season.

We also have several new drivers joining the ranks this year, so who knows what hidden talent will emerge!


4H Josh Humble
5H Ryan Marshall
6H Vincent Mortimer
7H Hamish Whyte
8H Larry Henderson
11H Jeff Gallagher
13H Jamie Symons
14H Greg Capper-Conijn
16H James Marshall
24H Brad Philpott
27H Brett Aikin
28H Daniel Field
32H Jayden Dreadon-Manning
43H Ethan Attenborough
44H Lee White
45H Matthew Shaw
47H Mark Johnson
67H Michael Rowe
68H Bevan Nelson
74H Travis Keenan
79H Norman Andersen
84H Jordan Latham
86H Ivan Dew
87H Nevin Shrubb
88H Justin Hutchby
93H Jamie Gallagher
94H David Salmon
97H Kacey Cheetham
99H William Whyte
209H Dylan Frankhouser
213H Gordon White
361H Clinton Cheetham
979H Shaun Jury

STOCKCARS REP Matt Hazelton Huntly Speedway


Matt Hazelton

Stockcar Rep

Mobile: 021 999 766


Upcoming Class Events